Organizing From a Place of Mutual Interest

The SURJ Basebuilding team is excited to invite you to our next monthly call: 

Organizing from a Place of Mutual Interest, on Tuesday, June 23rd at 5pm PT/6pm MT/7pm CT/8pm ET.

In SURJ, we use the term mutual interest to help us move from the idea of helping others, or just thinking about what is good for us, to understanding that our own liberation as white people, our own humanity, is inextricably linked to racial justice.

Mutual interest means we cannot overcome the challenges we face unless we work for racial justice.  It means our own freedom is bound up in the freedom of people of color.  

We will be joined by Meta Mendel-Reyes of Kentuckians for the Commonwealth, Becca Merideth of the Coalition of Anti-Racist Whites (CARW), and Sophie Smith of People Helping People in the Border Zone, speaking on how they organize white people for racial justice from a place of white mutual interest with people of color in ending racism.

Register for the call to receive your unique PIN and the call-in number.


Donate Volunteer Find an Event

connect

get updates