#Charleston

SURJCharleston.jpgSURJ is horrified and saddened, though not surprised by the terrorist attack at Charleston's Emanuel A.M.E. church yesterday. This horrific attack, which tragically took the lives of nine black community members in Charleston, South Carolina, is part of a larger system of structural violence against black people in this country. As white people, we are committed to speaking up and taking action against this and other deadly attacks on black lives from the murder of Tamir Rice in Cleveland, Rekia Boyd in Chicago, and so many more. Now, more than ever, we must take action to organize other white people to stand for racial justice.


 

 

Please join us on a national call on how white people can take action for Charleston tomorrow, Friday, June 19th, at 5pm PT/6pm MT/7pm CT/8pm ET.  We will hear from members and partners on the ground in Charleston and to make a plan to take action and show up as white people in our communities, towns and cities across the country. #BlackLivesMatter

With heavy hearts,
Dara, Carla, Sam, Meta, Pam, Jess, Jeff, Murphy, JLove, and Sean, SURJ Leadership Team


Donate Volunteer Find an Event

connect

get updates